Growing in the Garden – November Update

November; Crows are approaching – Wounded leaves fall to the ground. ― Sir Kristian Goldmund Aumann

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?  My lack of posting is quite frankly inexcusable!   My time for writing has become scarce and I’ve just not been able to make it a top priority recently.  I’m hoping to fix this problem very soon, with a bit of jiggery pokery here and there.

But, although I’ve not been around much, I have been busy in the garden.  So thought it time for an update.

November Update:

So far the weather in November has been rather mild, interjected with a couple of overnight frosts.  There has been a lot of rain, taking over whole days in some cases which has meant I’ve needed to empty some of the water butt down the drain.  It’s a waste (I know!), but it’ll just overflow and drown the raspberry canes.

The leaves on the hedges have turned beautiful shades of reds and yellows.  And although the ground is wet, which can make you feel like winter is nipping on your heels, there is still a lot of colour to be enjoyed.

Most of the 6 raised beds I use are split into two, three and even four crops areas.

Bed 1 (each bed is 1.5m x 1.5m)

  • Runner beans – finished
  • Peas – finished
  • Spinach – finished

Bed 2

  • Beetroot – finished
  • Carrots – finished
  • Leeks – still growing, although I’ll learn from my mistake of not being able to build the compost up around them enough.
  • Kale – finished

Bed 3

  • Potatoes – finished

Bed 4

  • Spinach – finished
  • Kale (Dwarf green curled) – didn’t start well
  • Spring onions – finished
  • Lettuce (Iceburg) – finished
  • Tomatoes – got a huge harvest off the tomatoes, and was left with quite a few green as the weather turned (chutney anyone?).  They have finished now though.

Bed 5

  • Strawberries – Finished.  I haven’t saved any runners as I intended as I’d like to get new varieties next year.

Bed 6

  • Sweetcorn – I now know why the sweetcorn didn’t reach maximum height – the eucalyptus roots have reached the bed.  I now need to empty the bed out and put the liner down.
  • Squash – no harvest unfortunately.  I think they ended up competing with the courgettes and lost.
  • Courgettes – finished, but I was harvesting right up to October.
  • Cucumbers – finished

Other areas:

  • Raspberries – tied up for winter.
  • Rhubarb – finished
  • Apples (espalier) – finished and tie dup.
  • Plum (espalier) – I’m slightly worried about the bark on this espalier.  The bottom of the tree looks like it’s been attacked by something.
  • Cherry tree – I pruned out one of the bottom shoots in the hopes the main plant will grow quicker.
  • Blueberries (Patriot) -finished
  • Blackcurrants – end of season
  • Redcurrants – end of season
  • Nuts (Kentish cob) – pruned
  • Hops (Fuggle) – finished
  • Chives – finished and put away under cover for winter.  I find I can start new growth off qucker in the next season that way.
  • Dill – apparently this needs to be replaced every three years so will dig it up and get a new plant next yr.
  • Thyme – just dying off now.  I need to divide it.
  • Mint (spearmint) – finished.
  • Oregano – same as the Thyme.
  • Rosemary – pruned
  • Sage – I’ve now disposed of this plant, to be replaced next yr.
  • Basil – finished
  • Chillies (Cayenne) – in the end I havested about 35 small but hot pods.  They are drying out.
  • Lettuce (Iceburg) – finished
  • Spring onions – will be left in the ground for next year
  • Radishes – the raddishes came back as the cool weather appeared so I got an extra harvest

Pests and disease

Standard issue pests and diseases such as the potato scab, aphids on the chillies, and my old arch enemy the slug!

 Gardening jobs in November

  • Empty the composter onto cleared beds
  • Tidying up!  Most of the prunning has now been done so it’s just a case of ensuring the leaves get added to the composter where necessary.
  • Moving the hostas to a sheltered spot.  They are hardy but I like to get them undercover if I can.

What are you up to in the garden this month?  Share your comments and ideas below.  I look forward to seeing them.

Have a great green week and I’ll catch you next week.

2 thoughts on “Growing in the Garden – November Update

Leave a comment

