Growing in the Garden – September Update

The love of gardening is a seed once sown that never dies. – Gertrude Jekyll

August was a great month for gardening.  The weather was good, the harvests were plentiful and I’ve even learnt more about growing veggies and have now started on some new plans.

September Update:

Most of the 6 raised beds are split into two, three and even four crops areas.

Bed 1 (each bed is 1.5m x 1.5m)

  • Runner beans – I’ve managed to get three meals out of two plant’s which is about as much as I expected so no issues there.
  • Peas – finished
  • Spinach – this spinach isn’t like perpetual spinach although the harvests have been very tasty it wasn’t long before all the plants began to bolt.  I would be tempted to go back to the perpetual varieties next yr.

Bed 2

  • Beetroot -little harvest and big flavour still.
  • Carrots – again, little and often harvests and each carrot has been delicious.
  • Leeks – these seemed to have slowed down growth wise.
  • Kale – finished

Bed 3

  • Potatoes (2 varieties, both mains) – Well, surprisingly even though I didn’t mulch them well I still managed to harvest about 10kg from the bed.  All the potatoes have scab unfortunately although it  didn’t hinder the taste.  This happened because being able to keep the bed adequately moist while the tubers were forming was quite difficult to do in during hot days.  Extra mulch would have helped.  Apparently I now need to add lime which I’ll do this month.

Bed 4

  • Spinach – See below.
  • Kale (Dwarf green curled) – See below
  • Spring onions – quite a few, in patches have germinated and are growing well.
  • Lettuce (Iceburg) – I’ve decided that lettuce and I are not compatible.  In fact as far as lettuce goes it might as well be like trying to grow money because it’s just impossible!
  • Tomatoes – These plants are doing exceptionally well.  So well in fact there has been no room left for the kale or indeed the spinach to take off.

Bed 5

  • Strawberries – Finished.  I intend to save as many runners as I can and winter them ready for next year.  Then this bed will be turned over ready to be used for something else.

Bed 6

  • Sweetcorn – bad news, for some reason my corn plants barely made it to two foot and produced tiny, tiny corn cobs.
  • Squash – no squash to be seen as yet.
  • Courgettes – still harvesting from three good plants.
  • Cucumbers – have harvested two really good size cuecumbers but alas that is all there has been.  Still, two is better than none!

Other areas:

  • Raspberries – I’ve pruned one set of raspberry canes and I’ve actually decided to pull up the other line that sat under the eucalyptus.  I’ve done that for a couple of reasons, to use the space for something else not altogether food related and to create more open space at the end of the garden.
  • Rhubarb – just about at the end of the season now.
  • Apples (espalier) (Egremont Russett) – harvested our one and only apple and it was delicious!  The espalier growth has done well this year, unhindered by aphids.
  • Plum (espalier) – I must have harvested about 100 plums.  Very impressed and pleased with the taste again.
  • Cherry tree – still a lot of growth and it’s managed to fend off the aphids this year but I need to look into pruning it.
  • Blueberries (Patriot) – I have just done some pruning on both the blueberry plants because it seemed to encourage more growth which in turn creates more berries and this year was no exception.
  • Blackcurrants – end of season
  • Redcurrants – end of season
  • Nuts (Kentish cob) – For the first time since planting the cob hedge (four yrs ago), we harvested 11 cob nuts!
  • Hops (Fuggle) – sad news, I had to prune the hops down.  They were pretty much taking over the doors and windows and hanging on by a thread.
  • Chives – second harvest was completed.
  • Dill – still rather sad looking, not sure what it needs – probably more water.
  • Thyme – harvested some of the leaves and I’m leaving the rest to flower now.
  • Mint (spearmint) – I am not able to harvest mint again although there is more root than top growth which probably means it needs feeding.
  • Oregano – same as the Thyme.
  • Rosemary – this is ready for it’ next prune already.  It has not flowered again though.
  • Sage – this needs to be replaced.  The top growth is extremely leggy.
  • Basil – end of the season.  I had to say goodbye to this plant but it lasted me about 6 months.
  • Chillies (Cayenne) -very hot red chillies but not big enough to dry.  I don’t know if growing them in part straw mulch has really helped or whether it might be something else they need?
  • Lettuce (Iceburg) – Pfff
  • Spring onions – have left these to do their own thing.  Harvesting looks more and more likely to be next yr now.
  • Radishes – got eaten again by slugs.  My own fault though.  I wasn’t checking them regularly enough.

Pests and disease

Standard issue pests and diseases such as the potato scab, aphids on the chillies, and my old arch enemy the slug!

 Gardening jobs in September

  • Empty the composter onto cleared beds
  • Keep a close eye on the tomatoes.  Cut back leaves to ensure the fruits get plenty of light and air
  • Water plants in dry weather
  • Plant up strawberry runners in pots

What are you up to in the garden this month?  Share your comments and ideas below.  I look forward to seeing them.

Have a great green week and I’ll catch you next week.

3 thoughts on “Growing in the Garden – September Update

  1. This is amazing.

    I really just stare in awe.

    We have almost a hectare of land, and even given all that, we get nowhere near the diversity of your harvest.

    Would it be wrong to say I am a little bit jealous? 🙂

    But seriously, many, many kudos to you and your garden!

    Like

Leave a comment

