New Blog: New Name, New Stories to Share

Every time I have some moment on a seashore, or in the mountains, or sometimes in a quiet forest, I think this is why the environment has to be preserved. ~ Bill Bradley

I wrote a blog once, then I wrote another one and now I’ve decided I can’t live without blogging, so I’ve set up this one.

For people that will (hopefully) remember me from my previous blog – Forget-me-Not Cultivation, you’ll know I took a blogging hiatus in August 2015, to see where it would take me.

My chief concern in blogging was always the “internet grey noise” syndrome.  My worry that I was merely adding to an already bursting seam of blogs that do nothing but distract you from where you need to be.

But, I now see that there appears to be two issues with my original train of thought:

  1. It doesn’t ultimately matter how many other blogs are out there.  If this blog ends up as just another one of “those blogs”, who cares?  I’ll create good content to ensure it’s useful both to me and anyone that happens to stumble across it, and,
  2. I really, really miss writing my blog.

So I’m  back.  I love the structure of having a blog. All I need is a blank page, and somewhere to type.  As always, there is so much out there to experience and I want to learn.  I’d very much like to share that learning along the way in the hopes it can inspire other people to grow some food, learn about other forms of transport or just share my adventures with their friends.

Forget-me-Not Cultivation had a big message to share.  I documented my trials of building habits, I wrote articles on growing strawberries, I taught myself German, from scratch, and I encouraged readers to grow their own food.

I kept a page of adventures I wanted to tick off in life, called my Life Ticket.  All of it kept me motivated, challenged me and held me to account.  It showed me just how far (and how much), I could achieve in life (and in a short amount of time!).

Ultimately I was unsure in which direction to move that blog, it covered so much.   But now I think I’ve got it sussed.  You’ll be pleased to know I’ve brought most of that content along here with me as it’s still very relevant and useful.

What this blog will share:

My passion (and personal mission), to help make the world a nicer, much greener, place to live.

Green living: – growing your own vegetables, wildlife gardening, nutrition, recycling, energy, public transport, minimalism, nature, and becoming a better green citizen in both urban and rural settings.

What this blog won’t be about:

Creative endeavours: – Fan-fiction, jogging, literature, creative writing or photography.

This blog won’t be selling anything – other than positive messages and helpful posts 🙂

I hope you’ll join me and let me know what you think along the way.

Have a great green week and I’ll see you next Monday.

6 thoughts on “New Blog: New Name, New Stories to Share

    1. Thank you John, it’s great to be back!
      I’ll be sure to join the new community. If you’d like me to share any posts on my blog, to get the word out about the community, just let me know.

      Like

  1. I’m so glad to hear this!! I started to read your blog after you stopped posting, so this is such great news that you’re now starting anew!

    We moved into our home 18 months ago, and I grew my first veg last summer. I’ve just started composting and we’ve recently installed a water butt, so I’m on the first steps of going green!!

    Am so looking forward to seeing your new posts, good luck on this new season and new blog!

    Ruth, West Sussex 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ruth, much appreciated. Let me know how you get on with your veg patch this yr. Any questions please ask – happy to help 🙂

      Like

  2. Welcome back! I have started following this new blog.

    I, personally, have always blogged for the most important audience on the planet: myself.

    I blog for me. If others, even just one person, likes it, that is of course great. And I am glad.

    But at the end of the day, the blog is for me and my desire to have a log of what I do. A personal diary that just to happens to also be public. Which is why, and for an example, unlike many other bloggers, I have never apologize for not blogging for weeks on end. There is no point in apologizing to myself because I did not want to write a blog post that week for me. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you very much for following the blog. A personal diary – yes I agree with you. It’s nice to look back and see what I’ve done in the past, the stories and the photo’s I’ve shared. Better than just scrolling through other social media sites or photo albums without context.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

